Tuesday, April 03, 2007
One of the great things about passover is the fact that you can get Kosher for Passover Coke. As in Coca-Cola. What makes this different from regular coke you ask?
Regular Coke is sweetened with high fructose corn syrup. :(
High fructose corn syrup is made from corn (well duh!)
Corn is a grain.
Grains are forbidden during passover.
To make sure that no one stops drinking Coke during passover Coke makes special batches of their beverage with sucrose... i.e. SUGAR.
If you have ever wondered what Coke used to taste like back in the day before high fructose corn syrup was invented... you have to try kosher for passover Coke.
My hubby and I finally found it this year and although we normally do not drink non-diet soda we bought 5 2-liter bottles. It is GOOD. There is definitely a difference between K for P Coke and regular Coke.
Here is more info on how to spot the REAL thing.
You could also try here.